David Myatt


There is a new book – of some 266 pages – about both David Myatt’s philosophy and the Order of Nine Angles. Written by a “practitioner of the Sinister-Numinous Tradition”, who uses the pseudonym “Beldam”, the title of the book, An Unfolding Of Physis, is a reference to Myatt’s philosophy of pathei-mathos {1} – otherwise known as ‘the numinous way – in which the concept of physis is central, just as it is central to the esoteric philosophy of the O9A, with the first part of the 1980s seminal O9A text Naos titled Physis Magick: A Practical Guide to Becoming An Adept where it is stated that:

       “Physis is divided into seven stages and these seven stages may be regarded as representing the varying degrees of insight attained. In terms of traditional magick, the stages represent Initiation, Second Degree Initiation, External Adept, Internal Adept, Master/Mistress (or High Priest/Priestess), Magus and Immortal. Each stage is associated with a sphere of the Septenary Tree of Wyrd.”

As noted in the O9A text Perusing The Seven Fold Way: Historical Origins Of The Septenary System Of The Order of Nine Angles, {2}

       “Physis is a clear use of the ancient Greek term φύσις, which term occurs frequently in the Pymander (also known as the Pœmandres) section of the ancient Greek text of the Corpus Hermeticum, dating from around the second century CE and first published in 1554 CE, and which Pymander discourse also describes, in some detail, a system of seven spheres; a journey, a quest – an anados, ἄνοδος – up through these spheres in order that the last stage, that of an immortal, may be achieved; and how the individual is changed in the process of journeying through the spheres.

It therefore would seem difficult to disagree with the claim, made in Naos and other O9A texts of the same period, that the O9A’s septenary system – with its seven-fold Tree of Wyrd – represents, at least in part, the ‘genuine Western occult tradition’, in contrast to the ten-fold Kabbalah based system used by the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn, by Aleister Crowley, and by all other, non-O9A, modern occultists, and which ten-fold Kabbalah based system is not only over a thousand years later than the Hellenic septenary system but employs Hebrew terminology in contrast to the Greek terminology of the earlier hermetic tradition.”

In addition, Myatt’s translation of and commentary on the Pœmandres section of the Corpus Hermeticum {3} provides new insights into the hermeticism that is one of the foundations of the modern Occult revival.

       This new book is therefore an interesting addition to those few works which discuss the O9A, even though it will undoubtedly be viewed by some outsiders as a contribution to the O9A’s Labyrinthos Mythologicus in the sense of “creating or concerned with mythology or myths; a mythical narrative.” {4} The mythical narrative in this instance being both the ‘Myatt mythos’ and the O9A mythos.

January 2018 ev

{1} Myatt’s philosophy is described in the book The Mystic Philosophy of David Myatt, a copy of which is available here: https://wyrdsister.files.wordpress.com/2018/01/myatt-mystic-philosophy-second-edition.pdf

{2} https://wyrdsister.files.wordpress.com/2018/01/perusing-7fw-o9a-v3ab1.pdf

{3} David Myatt. Corpus Hermeticum: Eight Tractates. 2017. ISBN-13: 978-1976452369

{4} https://omega9alpha.wordpress.com/labyrinthos-mythologicus



A Modern Mysterium
The Enigma of Myatt And The O9A

Corpus Secuntra, Telos